Posted by: wesleysensei | September 15, 2008

Sendai Jazz Festival Weekend

So this weekend was the Jazz Festival in Sendai City. Two JETs (Rothgeb and Lindsay) from the D.C. group came up to Sendai for the party and we all hung out on Saturday night. The weekend was yet another incredible experience in the city and included the following: Japanese jazz/pop/rock bands live in the street, karaoke + nomihodai, McDonalds (there aren’t any where I live), sleeping in an Internet Cafe, Street Fighter IV, rain, shopping malls, international food stores, more music, back to Osato.

All in all, the weekend was incredible and the fact that there was no school on Monday made it even sweeter. Today is “Respect for the Aged Day” which is a national holiday in Japan. This upcoming week of school may be shorter but I bet I’ll be busier than before. I am starting to help coach the soccer team and I have to organize my “Idiom of the Week” board.

Please, if you have any good idioms that you use all the time or sound pretty funny post them as a comment to this blog entry. I think my first one is either going to be “…the apple of my eye” or “…like two peas in a pod.” The next entry will be a synopsis of the adventure of getting the idiom board set up. Again, send me some ideas for the idiom board if you will.

Responses

  1. You could use any idioms from Forrest Gump….I’ll let you know if I think of anything else!

  2. First, I am really enjoying your blog. I would love to participate in the JET program soon.
    Second, there is a phrase that I first discovered was confusing in my first year college Japanese course. I translated the phrase “Kick the bucket” into Japanese. This made the American instructor chuckle and completely confused the Chinese foreign exchange students in the class.
    I am not sure if this is an idiom but I hope it is at least an amusing story.
    I will keep thinking of more and if there is anything else I can do please let me know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

