Posted by: wesleysensei | September 25, 2008

Sneeze the Day

Ok, this post will have to be short because I am feeling under the weather. Yesterday I felt just fine and was enjoying myself as usual; however, today I woke up with a runny nose and found myself constantly sneezing. To my surprise, I wasn’t the only one!

At school today probably 35-40% of people had the same symptoms. Not that I would wish sickness on my co-workers but I was relieved when others were sneezing and blowing their noses at work. There are many cultural differences that I am trying to get used to and adopt such as the use of indirectness (a subject that I would like to write about later). Another would be how highly inappropriate it is to blow your nose etc. in public. With this in mind I was worried about offending people every four minutes when I grabbed a tissue. Because so many other people were sick I was able to observe their actions and to my relief they were unabashedly blowing their noses.

I’m not sure if it is the changing season, the cold night, or something in the water but lots of people were sick today. The good news is that I can take care of my runny nose now without worrying about making a faux paus.

Responses

  1. Hope you feel better man. I also never knew that blowing your nose in public was considered rude (although that doesn’t strike me as a surprise)


Leave a Reply

Categories

