Posted by: wesleysensei | February 12, 2009

Vitamin C

This title has a double meaning:

 The first is in reference to the vitamin, vitamin C, which has become a good friend of mine this past week. The Sapporo Yuki Matsuri (snow festival) was tons of fun, however, below freezing weather plus drinking and going to multiple night spots isn’t great for the body. The good news is I did get anything more than a little cold. Unfortunately, the same can’t be said for a friend of mine that caught some kind of virus. With the help of Vitamin C and plenty of rest I am now back to 100%. Thanks Vitamin C.

The other Vitamin C is someone you probably have forgotten about or passed over to begin with. Try to think back to the year 2000 (no Conan reference). I was graduating from Stuart Hall middle school and there was a super poppy hit song released right around that time. You guessed it: Graduation by the singer Vitamin C. It has become the essence of cliche and is still played every May/June at countless middle and high schools. I bring this up not because I’ve rediscovered a lost talent, but rather because graduation is in the near future for the san-nen-sei (9th graders). A few of the san-nens came to me with a request to help them think of a title for their year book. They wanted something along the lines of “My Heart Will go On” (straight from Titanic). I told them to come back later and I would have a list for them. I felt the cheezy, cliche title is what the students wanted so I left nothing off the list. By the end of the day, I had a list with great titles like “One Heart Beat” and “Lasting Memories.” The students came to my desk and I gave them the list and read the titles. The giggled a lot and ran off. Now, let’s wait and see what title they choose.

Leave a Reply

Categories

